kindle à Out of My Mind 295 pages Download ☆ Sharon M Draper

reader ↠ Out of My Mind ☆ Sharon M. Draper

reader ↠ Out of My Mind ☆ Sharon M. Draper E she has cerebral palsy But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced She’s the smartest kid in her whole school but NO ONE knows it Most people her teachers her doctors her classmates dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability And she’s determined to let everyone know itsomehow 5 stars So I'm going to tell a little story first My mother is a teacher has been my entire life When I was little and sick and couldn't go to preschool she would bring me to her class a high school class at the time and I would play with her students I loved them still do to this day When I began elementary school that was the first time I ever heard the word retarded and it was aimed at students similar to my mother's I went home and asked my mother if her students were different and that was when she explained to me what special education students were I had no idea that her students were any different It never occured to me And my mother never treated them like they were different and never coached me to think they were She let me make up my own mindReading this book made me think a lot about my mother and her students It also reminded me of a girl I went to elementary school with who is very much like Melody I couldn't get that girl out of my mind while reading this book and I probably won't get Melody out of my mind for a long time to come Out of My Mind is about an eleven year old girl who is brilliant and no one knows it Born disabled she cannot talk and had trouble moving her limbs When a new machine gives her the ability to speak not everyone is ready to accept her as normalSharon Draper is a brilliant writer Words flow across the page effortlessly and I am wowed at how she captured and portrayed Melody I want everyone to read this book It's so special and it shows us how our perceptions are not always accurateFollow me on ♥ Facebook ♥ Blog ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter ♥

mobi Out of My Mind

kindle à Out of My Mind 295 pages Download ☆ Sharon M. Draper ç Over 15 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list “If there’s one book teens and paren Over 15 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list “If there’s one book teens and parents and everyone else should read this year Out of My Mind should be it” The Denver Post “A gutsy candid and compelling story It speaks volumes” School Library Journal starred revi I have a lot of say about this book I had so many feels I have cried and I have raged BOOKS MAKE ME FEELFREAKING SPOILERSIn this book we meet Melody I'm going to write a good amount of excerpts about Melody Melody had a pink wheelchair until she upgraded Melody had a goldfish named Ollie until he jumped out of the bowl and died she got blamedMelody got a dog she names Butterscotch by pointing at candy until her parents get it rightMelody has cerebral palsyMelody can't speak walk eat on her own or take herself to the bathroom Melody had a doctor tell her mom that she has brain damage bastardMelody has a photographic memory Melody tells the story in her mind through out the bookMelody is fictional but there are many Melody's Melody has a wonderful neighbor named Violet who taught her to do things she couldn't Melody has a very loving mom and dad Melody has a new baby sister Melody has a wonderful aide Catherine that helps her in school Melody goes to school with a couple of ssholes Here is a little about Melody I have no idea how I untangled the complicated process of words and thought but it happened uickly and naturally By the time I as two all my memories had words and all my words had meanings But only in my headI have never spoken one single word I am almost eleven years old•••••••When I sleep I dream And in my dreams I can do anything I get picked first on the playground for games I can run so fast I take gymnastics and I never fall off the balance beam I know how to suare dance and I'm good at it I call my friends on the phone and we talk for hours I whisper secrets I sing When I wake up in the morning it's always sort of a letdown as reality hits me I have to be fed and dressed so I can spend another long day in the happy face room at Spaulding Street SchoolMelody is smart as a whip Like I said before she has a photographic memory But no one knows this She memorizes the shows she watches on Discovery Channel Well she memorizes everything I would love to have a photographic memory Melody's next door neighbor Violet would watch her when she was little while her parents worked She taught Melody that she could roll over while she was on the floor Melody knew everything Violet was saying to her She learned from Violet When Melody got a little older Violet taught her how to fall out of her wheelchair correctly if someone forgot to strap her in so she wouldn't bash her head Violet made a board with as many words written down so Melody could point to certain words and people could sort of communicate with her It wasn't much but it was something I felt bad for Melody at school because she was in that one class with all of the handicapped kids and they weren't really taught much of anything Melody was too bright for all of that but couldn't tell anyone One day though the school decided the kids should start being put in the normal classes for one day a week or so Melody is so happy This is where she thinks she meets a good friend in a girl named Rose and she does for the most part Rose just messed up a couple of times But she also meets the evil bitches Claire and Molly I will get to those ssholes in a few minutes One day Melody sees someone with a new lap top and she starting thinking about Stephen Hawking She manages to give enough hints to Catherine about getting something just for Melody They start searching online and they find the Medi Talker Catherine gets all of the information for Melody to take home to her parents Melody is so excited when she gets to Violets and they research the Medi Talker so that when Melody's mom comes over to get her she sits down at the computer and they all discuss trying to get one It turns out the insurance will pay for half of it So they have to go through all of this stuff and paperwork and signatures and paperwork and then FINALLY it gets there Violet and Melody work on it until her parents get home They were okay with it because of all the excitement It was such a special moment I cried yeah Melody got to actually speak to her parents for the first time Hi Dad Hi Mom I am so happyMom gets all teary eyed and her nose gets red She is looking at me all soft and gooey When I think about it I realize I have never ever said any words directly to my parents So I push a couple of buttons and the machine speaks the words I've never been able to say I love youMom completely loses it She bubbles up with tears and grabs dad I think he might be sniffling back a couple of tears himselfBut he has recorded it allAt one point in one of the classes Melody wants to try out for the uiz Team She was the highest one to score when they did a sample test Mr D was reluctant at first but apologized later I thought I was going to have to smack him too Anyway Melody's little Medi Talker also prints out anything she types if she wants it to so she can participate in class and all kinds of things Let me tell you these bitches named Claire and Molly mouth off about Melody from the get go and I wanted to beat the shit out of them I DO NOT TOLERATE PEOPLE THAT SAY BAD THINGS TO HANDICAPPED PEOPLE ANY KIND OF ABUSER PEOPLE ANIMAL ANIMAL KILLERS PEOPLE KILLERS PEDOPHILES IT'S SAD THAT I CAN PROBABLY GO ON AND ON But I digress Here is just a little excerpt from them that made me want to snatch them up out of their chairs I found the perfect gif for that too When we arrive at Mr Dimming's room a group of kids from my history class are already there whispering together and going over note cards They look up in surprise when Catherine wheels me in Hi Melody Rose says What are you doing here? Her voice doesn't sound as friendly as usual uiz team I type She can't be on the team I hear Claire whisper to Jessica wrinkling up her nose She's from the retard roomMolly thinks that really funny She screeches like a blue jay when she laughsTHIS IS WHAT I THINK OF THAT Anyhoo Melody gets into the group and they are all going to DC after they win the first round Well lets just say some stuff happens and they didn't win And some other horrible things happen but we won't talk about that you can read all of that I was so proud of Melody though She held her head up as high as she could and told the whole class off in her own way I totally loved this story I love Melody I love all of the wonderful people in the book I loved how the author told the story I just LOVED IT K And to think I might never have read this book if I didn't get the paperback from for 5 and some change for a goodreads challenge I thought it sounded good but I had no idea how good MY BLOG Melissa Martin's Reading List

Sharon M. Draper ☆ Out of My Mind reader

Out of My MindEw “Unflinching and realistic” Kirkus Reviews starred review “UpliftingThis moving novel will makes activists of us all” Booklist starred review From award winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s WonderEleven year old Melody is not like most people She can’t walk She can’t talk She can’t write All becaus I can't even begin to explain the importance of this book and how it has the power to influence so many people in how they treat others I honestly don't even have words to describe my feelings for this book just yet but once I do I plan on screaming them from the rooftops so that everyone reads this book