READ ½ A River in the Trees

Avni Doshi ↠ 1 READ

READ ½ A River in the Trees ✓ Two women Two stories One hundred years of secretsA sweeping novel of love loss family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell John Boyne and Donal Ryan1919Hannah is nineteen years old and living on her family's farm in West Cork Her peaceful world is shattered forever by the eruption of the War of Independence N she decides to come home to Ireland to face the past she has always tried to escape Her journey centres on an old house in the countryside a house that used to belong to her family Reaching into the past she feels a connection to her aunt the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back togeth. A River in The Trees tells the story of Hannah and Ellen who are from the same family but 100 years apart In 1919 Hannah and her family were involved in the War of Independence where they helped hide the rebels from the British army In 2019 Ellen broken and in grief after the loss of her baby went back to Ireland in the hope of saving her marriage and most importantly saving herself📚The book's narrative alternated between the events of the two timelines; Hannah back in 1919 and Ellen in the present time This is what I love the most about this book Intertwining the past and present really captivated me from start to finish Sooner or later I found myself trying to see if there was any similarity in the events happening to Hannah in the past to the story of Ellen Was it a repeat of a history or were the fates of these two characters completely different📚I was engrossed in the events happening to Hannah in 1919 I love Hannah as a character what a strong willed and brave young woman She in my mind singlehandedly saved her whole family while making the impossible sacrifice This part of the story was told so intensively so effortlessly I found myself drawn to the characters so very much I loved it On the other hand I did have apprehensive feelings about the story for Ellen in the present time While I was reading the book I kept asking myself whether I liked Ellen I feel sorry for Ellen but do I actually like her If I have a chance to meet with the author one day I would definitely ask her if it was intentional to make Ellen a controversial character or whether she left readers to figure it out themselves📚While I did find the book had a slow start and I didn't resonate with everything that was happening to Ellen at present time I did enjoy the book very much I keep asking myself even days after finishing it what happened to Hannah and what is going to happen to Ellen I still want answers

CHARACTERS Ó REFLECTIONSLISBURNLTD.CO.UK ↠ Avni Doshi

Two women Two stories One hundred years of secretsA sweeping novel of love loss family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell John Boyne and Donal Ryan1919Hannah is nineteen years old and living on her family's farm in West Cork Her peaceful world is shattered forever by the eruption of the War of Independence Ireland's bid for freedom from Britain Hannah's family hide reb. This book spent far too much time on my shelf for which I beg forgiveness the that it is an absolutely fascinating book dealing with the past and the present of Ireland through complicated lives of two women The two protagonists live one hundred years apart have different life experiences and handle their problems differently What I liked a lot about the book was the theme of the house which connects themThis book does not belong to the type described as page turners however for me it turned out to be exactly this kind of a readMany thanks to Jacueline O'Mahony uercus Books and NetGalley for arc in exchange for my honest review

REVIEW A River in the Trees

A River in the TreesEl soldiers in their attic putting them in great danger from the Black and Tans who roam the countryside An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada the leader of this band of rebels will change her life and that of her family forever2019Ellen is at a crossroads in her life her marriage is in trouble her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby After years in Londo. This is what they have done to us she thought They have blackened our hearts This a book which falls into two halves the first part set in Ireland 1919 is superb a tight intense tale lyrically and powerfully told worthy of 5 stars Interspersed though is one of those stories of the modern descendents of the first tale set in 2019 of which authors seem to be so fond even when it does little other than fill space This part was a 2 star experience for me It feels to me that the 1919 story was written from the author's heart the 2019 narrative from her head You could cut the whole of the latter from the book and far from losing anything would have a tauter starker tale made beautiful by its purity and lack of distractions Hannah in the 1919 story is a heroine with whom I fell in love and the narrative is written in achingly gorgeous prose full of the cadences of Irish speech It's a brutal tale of acts of war not least the shameful behaviour of the English army in Ireland and betrayal on all kinds of levels It reads effortlessly character plot language atmosphere all woven together seamlessly Such a shame then that this magnificent story keeps being forcibly interrupted by the uninteresting 2019 sections It's a common mistake of debut novelists trying to cram in too much how sad that an editor or early reader didn't pare this one back Still the 1919 story is outstanding and crafted perfectly O'Mahoney is definitely on my watch list after this Many thanks to uercus for an ARC via NetGalley