Doc Î The English Wife ✓ 400 pages Ø Adrienne chinn

Epub The English Wife

Doc Î The English Wife ✓ 400 pages Ø Adrienne chinn Ø Two women a world apartA secret waiting to be discovered‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley‘Rich evocative and utterly immersive this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft‘Evocative sensual and authentic’ Jane JohnsE and utterly immersive this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft“An epic tale of family tragedy love I highly recommend this book” Books Wine Cats 5“The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner Highly recommend this book especially if you’re looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff” To Read is to Breathe 5“I couldn’t put it down It was not your typical historical novel I think that’s what I loved about it Great book” Dabbookclub 4“A book that drew me in from the first pages The characters come alive they’re so well written Fans of historic fiction will love this story An author to follow” Consumer review The English Wife by Adrienne Chinn is a historical romance that is told from multiple points of view I enjoyed the authors descriptions of Newfoundland and the remote town of Tippy’s Tickle The country sounded rugged remote and beautiful I could just imagine how cold it was living by the water from the author’s words Ellie Sophie Sam Dottie Becca Florie George and Thomas are just a few of the characters in the story The POV originally alternates between Sophie and Ellie but it branches out into the other characters along the way In addition to the various POVs the time period changes The story begins in February of 1946 with Ellie sailing to Newfoundland We also have Sophie in September of 2011 getting ready to return to the small inlet of Tippy’s Tickle on business It then goes back to 1940 moving forward through the war years and 2001 The chapters are short which leads to a choppy flow I would just get into Ellie’s story and then I am back to Sophie It is a wonder I did not get whiplash It leads to a confusing story It felt like the author wrote two different stories and then took pieces from each to make into one book I would put my book down and come back to it utterly lost I had to backtrack to figure out which character was speaking and where I was in time The story lacked continuity Sophie and Ellie’s stories come together in the end with an expected conclusion Secrets get revealed but they can be discerned before they are revealed I was not a fan of Emmett Parsons Ellie’s son He was an odd duck I wish the author had taken the time to establish Ellie and Sophie in the beginning They needed to be fleshed out and given life While I liked Ellie Sophie did not appeal to me I felt that most of the characters were flat I was also put off by the amount of foul language just in the first couple of chapters it is in the rest of the book as well just not so much at once I really wanted to like The English Wife but it just did not work for me

Pdf ò The English Wife Ä Adrienne Chinn

Two women a world apartA secret waiting to be discovered‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley‘Rich evocative and utterly immersive this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft‘Evocative sensual and authentic’ Jane JohnsonVE Day 1945 As victory bells ring out across the country war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuriesTravelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do But noth The story is set in England WWII Newfoundland 2001 2011Ellie and Dottie were sisters and the story revolves around them their husbands and their children Dottie didn't like when Ellie met Thomas She tries to control her and keep her from breaking up with her long term boyfriend George But Ellie eventually marries Thomas and they emigrated to Newfoundland The sisters are estranged 911 2001 Dotties daughter is on a flight to New York It's diverted to Newfoundland The chapters tell us what era we are going to read about I felt some parts of the story dragged out while others were beautifully written This is an interesting read and look into how family dynamics secrets and choices they made connected It's one of those stories you could go on about but it's best to read it for yourself nd make your own opinions There's parts of the story that are a little out of sync but that didn't put me off I would like to thank NetGalley HarperCollins UK HarperFiction and the author Adrienne Chinn for my ARC in exchange for an honest review

Adrienne Chinn Ä The English Wife Epub

The English WifeIng can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new homeSeptember 11th 2001 Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history While the world watches the news in horror Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago newfound secrets may change her life forever This is a timeless story of love sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley Lorna Cook and Gill PaulWhat readers are saying about The English Wife‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley‘Rich evocativ What sounds from the book description like a dual timeline story is actually a triple if not uadruple timeline story although most of the first part of the book takes place either in WW2 Norwich or in Newfoundland in 2001  Some concentration is needed to keep track of the different storylines as the chapters switch freuently back and forth in time However it’s well worth the effort as you’re soon drawn into what is an increasingly multi layered storyIn essence all roads lead to the uaintly named Tippy’s Tickle in Newfoundland Coincidence or fate? Ellen arrived there in 1946 as a war bride to join her husband Thomas and Sophie Ellen’s niece finds herself there when the plane in which she’s travelling to New York is rerouted to Newfoundland due to the 911 terror attacks As to how Sophie ends up in Tippy’s Tickle well that’s less “of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world she walks into mine” from Casablanca as “of all the tea ueues in all the world he ends up in mine”In dual time stories I sometimes find myself invested in the story set in the past than in the present This wasn’t the case with The English Wife Not that the events that see young Ellen travelling across the world from her home in Norwich aren’t compelling it’s just that the reader pretty much knows the trajectory of her story from the book description Although having said that there are secrets to be discovered even there and the author keeps the reader waiting uite a while until these are revealedSophie’s unplanned – and unwanted – stopover in Newfoundland in 2001 is an obstacle in her otherwise organised to the last detail life Her determination to get to New York for an interview reminded me of the wonderful 1945 film I Know Where I’m Going in which Joan Webster played by Wendy Hiller is prevented by bad weather from making the crossing to the island of Kiloran Sophie soon falls under the spell of Tippy’s Tickle and who could blame her because there’s a lovely sense of community about the place and it is surrounded by beautiful rugged landscape Although outsiders are known as “Come From Aways” its inhabitants are welcoming and hospitable as well as accepting of difference It was good to see diverse characters playing such a part in the story As it happens Tippy’s Tickle isn’t the only thing to cast a spell on Sophie during her stay However sometimes things don’t work out the way you wantTen years later – to the day – Sophie is travelling back to Tippy’s Tickle on an assignment for the architectural practice for which she works They are planning a lavish leisure development – hotel golf course the works If you know the film Local Hero Ed that’s enough of the film references you’ll have an idea that the plans may not be greeted with universal enthusiasm especially as it affects people to whom Sophie has grown close For some it threatens their sense of security and a way of life that is all they have ever known; something they will do anything to prevent How will Sophie negotiate this dilemma? You’ll need to read the book to find outI can’t finish this review without commenting on the fabulous insight into Newfoundland culture the book provides including collouialisms such as being “gut foundered” hungryThe English Wife is a skilfully crafted multi layered story about family secrets missed opportunities second chances and finding out what’s really important in life